Traveling Speed Laws in Georgia
Speeding is one of the most frequent causes of accidents on Georgia roads. In fact, an average of one speed related death per day occurs on the Georgia roads. Simply by observing posted speed limits, many serious collisions could likely be avoided because drivers would have time to slow down and/or stop to avoid crashes. Here we provide some basic information about Georgia traveling speed laws.Georgia Speed Limits
For your safety and the safety of others, it is important to watch for speed limit signs while you are driving. Some areas—for example, school zones or construction zones—may be posted for lower maximum speed limits during certain times of the day. Look out for speed limit signs coming up ahead, so you have sufficient time to adjust your speed when you enter a different speed zone.
Unless otherwise posted, maximum driving speeds are determined based on these general rules:
- 30 miles per hour in any urban or residential district
- 35 miles per hour on an unpaved county road
- 70 miles per hour on a rural interstate
- 65 miles per hour on an urban interstate or on a multi-lane divided highway
- 55 miles per hour in all other areas
Keep in mind, these rules are general. Local jurisdictions, the Georgia Department of Transportation, or the Georgia Department of Public Safety may find it necessary to adjust speed limits based on temporary or permanent local conditions. Similarly, you may need to reduce your speed to drive safely given the weather or road conditions where you are travelling.
If a driver is exceeding the posted speed limit and causes a collision as a result, the driver can be held liable for negligence per se.Georgia’s “Super Speeder” Law
In 2010, the state's "Super Speeder Law" was enacted to deter high-risk driving habits. Under this law, a driver convicted of speeding 75 miles per hour on any two-lane road, or 85 miles per hour (and over) on any road in Georgia, will be assessed a $200 state fee. This fee is in addition to any local fines imposed in the jurisdiction where the speeding offense occurred. Failure to pay on time will result in driver’s license suspension plus a $50 reinstatement fee, on top of the $200 state fee.Driving Too Slowly
Driving too slowly on some highways can also be dangerous because it impedes the flow of traffic. For this reason, minimum speed limits are posted on certain highways. On roads with two or more lanes of traffic travelling in the same direction, slower vehicles should use the right lane except when passing or making a left turn. You should seek an alternate route if you cannot drive at the minimum posted speed limit.Contact KWFDM if You Have Been Injured in a Speeding Accident
If you or a loved one has been hurt in a speeding accident, please contact the legal team at KWFDM to discuss the circumstances of your accident, your resulting injuries, and your options for financial recovery. Your first consultation with an attorney is free.